An Exquisite Gift

20120518-092000.jpg

In the midst of a difficult family situation this week, I considered forgoing my usual Friday post. But in appreciation for the lovely animal my husband and I share our life with, I decided to post anyway.

My Grandfather is dying. Like most families, we have come together to support one another during this difficult time. Our dogs have been a major part of this. Being a family of animal lovers, we derive much comfort from our non-human family members. From the tiny tail wagging cheer of my sister’s Rat Terrier to the large calm affection of my Greyhound, these dogs bring comfort and a smile through the tears.

20120518-103726.jpg

Dogs are the best therapists, the best grief counselors, the best friends. A dog will be content to stand by you, regardless of your mood, and provide support and companionship that is willing to do whatever you desire.

Dogs are truly amazing. No other creature can sense what you feel before you are fully aware of it yourself, and then comfort you in the best way possible. The silent presence and cold wet nose say it all: “I’m here. I love you. It’s OK. Cry on my shoulder.” I thank God every day for this exquisite gift – my dog.

8 thoughts on “An Exquisite Gift

  1. There’s nothing like the love of a pet. You’re lucky you have that love…and you also have the love of your family…we love you, honey…and we’re here for you.

  2. doloreslife says:

    This was such a great post – and so true! I recently lost my Mom and my golden retriever gave me such comfort and many laughs during this time. I wish you peace and strength.

  3. eloquentlyury says:

    *F*A*M*I*L*Y* whether human, canine or feline… My thoughts are with you through this difficult time. We’re with you and we love you…and that includes our cats. 🙂

  4. Seasonsgirl says:

    I am sorry about your grandfather… prayers for your family. I agree dogs are amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

