Liberation

Those who participated in women’s suffrage and the women’s liberation movement had good intentions, I’m sure. But somewhere along the road to liberation, something went terribly wrong.

Now, don’t think that I do not appreciate having legal rights as well as varied options as to apparel. But I don’t appreciate being “liberated” from the hold of stay-laces and apron strings only to be delivered into the stranglehold of corporate America. In an economy where every penny counts, I’m thankful that I have a means of earning necessary income. But I strongly resent the fact that most households are now dependent on the wife and mother holding a job outside the home. Women have been so “liberated” from their traditional role that most cannot live in accord with that role, even if that is their heart’s desire. Or worse yet, some must fill the traditional role in addition to working outside of the home to bring in necessary income and/or healthcare benefits. And when I reference necessary income, I mean just that. Not working for “my OWN money” or the ability to acquire luxuries, but simply the necessary provisions for life – food, housing, healthcare, and education for the children.

It appears to me that something is terribly wrong when, in a free society, a woman is free to choose a corporate career, but is not free to choose the role of mother and wife – raising her own children and running a clean, healthy, efficient household.

This is not to say that women are not capable of excelling in any given career path. The issue here is choice. We can choose to be a CEO, managing partner, or a humble entry-level associate. But for most of us, the choice of the oldest and most time-honored career for a woman is simply not an option. Some women must resort to prescription drugs in order to function at a job away from all that they love – simply to provide the necessities. The fact that it must come to that is just wrong on so many levels.

I know I’ve written on this topic in the past, but it is close to my heart and something that I feel quite strongly about. Frankly, I’d rather be laced into a corset and spend the day in a hot kitchen and/or caring for cranky children than be backed into the corner that we modern women find ourselves in. But we must eat and have a roof over our heads, so pop a Xanax and get on with it.

20120827-101313.jpg

2 thoughts on “Liberation

  1. eloquentlyury says:

    In my case it wasn’t Xanax (although I needed that too), it was prescription drugs for migraines. Even when I went into full menopause with all the mood swings, hot flashes and my usual migraines escalated to full week migraines and night ones when I had to be up at dawn to go to work and it didn’t stop there. I had to assume both roles, housewife and professional. It was horrible and I was slowly dying. I believe the woman is the “weaker vessel” (physically) and yet, I was expected to juggle a full time stressful job, pets, laundry, housework etc. until my body and mind started to shut down. My house was falling apart, there wasn’t enough time to get to everything. Meanwhile, my husband was “done” afer his 8 hours of work were over and he would be disappointed if I didn’t have time to take a drive in the country because I had to catch up on the cleaning and laundry. It was so unfair. I was fortunate that something forced me to give up my secular job and although I feel guilty that I’m not “working” (because believe me, the work at home never ends), I’m starting to come to terms with it, we’re doing ok without the extra money and now I have time to cook nutritious meals for my family, the house is relatively clean, I’m on top of anything that arises, and I’ve started walking regularly and I’m feeling so much better. Although I still suffer from migraines, I feel I have a handle on life now. Believe me, it’s not so “liberating” when you are a slave to two jobs and it only counts as one!

  2. It’s funny, when we find out that someone’s wife isn’t working a secular job, we look at each other with our eyes crossed and usually think less of them. Sometimes we’ll go as far as assume that they’re lazy. In some cases, they truly are though. Still it’s a prejudice that we have. Other women have to work and are jealous of those who don’t work and so we criticize them, well, I know I do LOL.
    As you mentioned in your post, a lot of it is our personal choice. I work because I personally don’t like the whole “housewife” thing, and thank goodness I’m not married! LOL I have to work because I know I wouldn’t get anything done at home. I recognize I have a “lazy gene”, so I force myself to work an 8 hour day to provide for myself and contribute to help my family. As far as loving my job…..um, no, it pays the bills, but I’d rather be making jewelry by day and looking through a telescope at night.
    I also prop myself up with pills in order to function. I’m also a migraine sufferer so I need to pop an Excedrin or a Fiuricet when I need it because I can’t just drop everything and lay down like I want to. I can’t, in good conscience, call out of work any time I feel a twinge like other people do. But that’s just me. Nothing makes any of us women superior to the other. We are who we are. Many of us are delicate and others are strong as anything. Some are delicate and try to be strong but we fall short because we just don’t have “it”. Now I’m going on a tangent. Anyway, good post lol.

Leave a Reply

